Instagram is introducing a new tool for their Android and iOS app called “Recently Deleted”. It is designed to help recover content that the user may want to restore in the event of an accidental or unintentional deletion of posts from their account.
The Recently Deleted folder will have protections built-in to prevent hackers from permanently deleting content or restoring content. To make this possible, Instagram will now require account verification before anything is deleted or restored.
When content such as photos, videos, reels, IGTV videos and stories are deleted, they will now be moved to the “Recently Deleted” folder. They will remain in the folder for 30 days before being permanently deleted, except for deleted Stories, which will be deleted after 24 hours if they aren’t archived.
On the latest update of the Instagram app, users can simply navigate to the Settings ⇾ Account ⇾ Recently Deleted, and here they can access their deleted content. Users will have the option to either permanently delete selected content or restore them back to their account.